Hyundai Elantra Hailed as the 2011 - 2012 Car of the Year Philippines - Ning4u: Anything And Everything's Free
Headlines News :
Home » , , » Hyundai Elantra Hailed as the 2011 - 2012 Car of the Year Philippines

Hyundai Elantra Hailed as the 2011 - 2012 Car of the Year Philippines

The long wait is finally over. After spending a total of eight test days under the sun, several weeks tallying score sheets, and countless sleepless nights in anticipation, it all boiled down to one special awards night as the Car Awards Group Inc. (CAGI) hailed a new a successor to the Car of the Year title last March 29, 2012 at the 8th Manila International Auto Show (MIAS). Selecting through a total of 36 nominees and 11 finalists, the Hyundai Elantra is now the 2011 - 2012 Car of the Year Philippines (COTY-P).

The Hyundai Elantra stood out not only amongst the vehicles in its class, but also above the rest of the entries for this year's COTY-P. It ranked high in the Qualitative tests, where it was scored based on criteria such as aesthetics, comfort, and drivability, and was one of the top performers in the Technical test that evaluated the acceleration, braking, and handling characteristics of each vehicle, while offering great value for money. Presenting the award to the Hyundai Elantra once again proves that the title of Car of the Year Philippines is not for the fastest, cheapest, or most popular car in the market. Rather, it is an award for the car that offers best value to the consumers.

Making history, this is the first time that a Korean automaker has won Car of the Year in Philippines, and is the Elantra's fourth Car of the Year worldwide, winning the same title previously in Canada, North America, and South Africa.

“The COTY-P award is well-deserved by the Hyundai Elantra and makes this the 4th COTY award received worldwide by the Elantra. The results are also a validation that CAGI's COTY testing procedures are internationally up to par,” remarked CAGI President Ferman Lao.

Aside from the prestigious Car of the Year title, there were also 11 category and special award winners recognized.

2011 - 2012 Car of the Year Category Winners
Basic Subcompact Car                         Kia Picanto 1.0 M/T
Subcompact Car                                   Suzuki Swift 1.4 A/T
Compact Car                                         Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS A/T
Crossover                                              Kia Sportage 2.0
Luxury Mid sized Car                           Volvo S60 T4
Luxury Compact Crossover                MINI Countryman S
Midsize SUV 4x2                                   Mitsubishi Montero Sport 4x2 M/T
Midsize SUV 4x4                                   Mitsubishi Montero Sport GTV 4x4 A/T
Luxury SUV                                            Ford Explorer V6 AWD
Pickup 4x2                                            Mitsubishi Strada 4x2 A/T
Pickup 4x4                                            Mitsubishi Strada 4x4 A/T

Special Awards
Standard Insurance Worry-Free Award                           Chevrolet Cruze Diesel
BOSCH Technical Innovation Award                                 My Ford Touch Sync (Ford Explorer)
AAP Road Safety Award                                                      Volvo S60
Papa J's Best Value Award                                                  Kia Picanto 1.0 M/T
Caltex with Techron Enjoy the Journey Award               Nissan Teana 350XV
Cartrige World iSwap iCare Award                                   Suzuki Swift 1.4 A/T
All Terra All Activity Vehicle Award                                  Toyota Hilux 3.0G 4x4
Victoria Court Most Spacious Award                                Foton MPX 2.8L CRDi Long Wheelbase
Red Rock Travel Most Affordable Car Award                  Lifan LF320 M/T
Speedlab Tuner's Choice Award                                       Hyundai Elantra 1.6 M/T
Clark International Speedway Motorsports Award        Tuason Racing School and Ford Group Philippines (TRS Cup powered                                                                                      by the Ford Fiesta)

For eight years running, CAGI has recognized the best vehicles in the market, awarding the coveted title of Car of the Year Philippines (COTY-P) to the car with the best value for money for consumers. The COTY-P awards is an annual consumer-oriented event organized by CAGI, a non-stock, non-profit organization composed of more than 50 motoring journalists from various print, broadcast, and online media outlets.

The 2011 - 2012 COTY-P awards is presented by the Manila International Auto Show and is supported by the Clark International Speedway, SpeedLab, Caltex Techron, Standard Insurance, BOSCH, Worldbex, Ortigas Home Depot, Automotive Association of the Philippines, Cartridge World, Papa J's Witches n Wings, MG Madrid & Co., All Terra Cyclery,  Red Rock Travel, Life Line Ambulance Rescue, Winner Graphics, and Victoria Court with media partners Sunshine TV, Auto Extreme, Auto Review, Stoplight TV, Motoring Today, Auto Focus, 99.5RT, Jam 88.3, Wave 89.1,,,,, MotorCycle Magazine, Gadgets Magazine, Speed Magazine, C! Magazine, Power Wheels, Top Gear Philippines, Business World, Business Mirror, The Philippine Daily Inquirer, The Manila Standard Today, World News, The Philippine STAR, Daily Tribune, Malaya Business Insights, Manila Times, and The Manila Bulletin.
                          ________Press Release__________
Share this article :


Search This Blog

Blog Archive

My Awards

Photobucket Fr Ms Vernz Photobucket
Support : Creating Website | Johny Template | Mas Template
Proudly powered by Blogger
Copyright © 2011. Ning4u: Anything And Everything's Free - All Rights Reserved
Template Design by Creating Website Published by Mas Template